Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

5 Minute Dharma

A weekly five-minute podcast that seeks to give people practical Buddhist wisdom for everyday life.

Apr 30, 2020

"Now this, bhikkhus, is the noble truth of the origin of suffering: it is this craving which leads to renewed existence, accompanied by delight and lust, seeking delight here and there; that is, craving for sensual pleasures, craving for existence, craving for extermination" (SN 56.11).

Apr 23, 2020

"Bhikkhus, when the uninstructed worldling is being contacted by a painful feeling, he sorrows, grieves, and laments.... He feels two feelings — a bodily one and a mental one. Suppose they were to strike a man with a dart, and then they would strike him immediately afterwards with a second dart, so that the man would...

Apr 17, 2020

“Now this, bhikkhus, is the noble truth of suffering: birth is suffering, aging is suffering, illness is suffering, death is suffering; union with what is displeasing is suffering; separation from what is pleasing is suffering; not to get what one wants is suffering; in brief, the five aggregates subject to clinging...

Apr 10, 2020

There are three major branches of Buddhism, they are the Theravada, Mahayana, and Vajrayana. Each has their own canon. The Theravada branch of Buddhism is the only existing branch of early Buddhism to survive. The Pali Canon is the one that transmits the original teachings of the Buddha. The Mahayana and Vajrayana...

Apr 3, 2020

The Three Jewels are the three treasures of Buddhism, they are the Buddha, the Dharma, and the Sangha. They are the most sacred things in Buddhism. In this episode I explore what are the Three Jewels and what does it mean to take refuge in them?